Kristin Dyak, Digital Marketing Director at The Cyphers Agency, let Reader’s Digest readers know how to disable the Facebook app’s location-tracking feature, but also pointed out what value it offers, in Facebook’s Nearby Friends Tool Is Still Around—And Can Still Track You.

Her instructions and commentary were featured in the following section of the article:


If you’d rather not advertise your location to your entire Facebook friends list, here’s what to do. Find the “Explore” tab under the menu button on your phone’s Facebook app and select “Nearby Friends.” To open the feature’s settings, select the gear button in the top right-hand corner of the screen, and then tap the “Nearby Friends” sliding icon at the top. Doing so should disable the feature.

However, there might be certain people among your family or friends who would like to know your location for safety purposes. You can tailor the list of who can see your location by turning on your location and selecting the “Friends” option right underneath. You can also select a certain group, or “location” to see where you are, says digital marketing strategist Kristin Dyak.